Stepping Out In Faith: Redefining Our Dream

By definition faith is complete trust or confidence in someone or something.

It sounds easy enough. I put my faith in many things; my husband, my job, my church, my friends. Things that provide me with security. Things that I do, see and touch.  I have plenty of faith for that.

 But do I really have faith when God calls me out of that realm of security? Do I have complete trust and confidence that He will be there when I need Him to provide? Do I believe in what I cannot see when all I see are the problems that will face me when I get there? How do I really trust Him when He’s asking me to step into the unknown for His glory?

I first have to remember that this is not my life, it’s His. It was His the second He  created me, and I gave Him control the second I acknowledged that He was Lord of my life. It’s no longer about me; it’s all about Him. He didn’t give us this life to let us struggle through. He always provides a way through our mess.

I also remember that this life is not about my dream, but rather the fulfillment of His. The purpose of our creation was to live in communion with God every day of our lives; to fully surround ourselves with His presence. Sin has gotten in the way of that and is now often a daily struggle for us all. His dream is for us to have this communion with Him again. It was the whole purpose of Jesus coming. He gave us one command: “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your strength, and with all your mind; and your neighbor as yourself….. do this and you will live.” (Luke 10:27-28, parts omitted, emphasis added.)

A life of faith is a life spent loving God with all our heart, soul, strength and mind. A life spent loving our neighbor as ourselves. It’s seeking Him daily. It’s serving Him daily. It’s loving Him daily. It’s trusting and expecting that He will provide what we need.

Watching this play out in life is not as easy as it should be. For Dave and me it has meant often leaving behind comforts for new beginnings. Our most recent move was probably the most puzzling to people. He was employed at a church with a secure salary package, I was working as a massage therapist at a busy spa. Our life appeared so secure, but God had placed in our hearts that our time there was approaching its end. Called to Sioux Falls we packed up our things and said goodbye to those we love. Our family thought we were crazy. Nobody understood why we would leave our comfortable lives for the unknown. For us, when God calls, you just have to go.

We arrived with one part time job between the two of us and the knowledge that this is where God wanted us, though the reason was not clear. But we trusted Him completely and He provided completely. It was beautiful how he orchestrated every minor and major detail of our move. We had the perfect amount of money to get by for moving and the first two months, we ended up in our home that we love that also happens to be next door to my grandparents, we both have good jobs and we adore our church. Serving there has been the biggest blessing.

We still do not know why we are here, but it is clear, we are living completely on faith. And God is definitely providing. We don’t have much extra but not once has there been a month that we’ve gone hungry or bills have gone unpaid. It hasn’t been easy but if it was meant to be easy we would never achieve growth. God is really growing us right now. Stretching areas that hurt and nurturing areas that need healing.  Teaching us that we don’t need all the answers, we just need Him.

“In this you rejoice, even if now for a little while you have had to suffer various trials, so that the genuineness of your faith – being more precious than gold that, though perishable, is tested by fire – may be found to result in praise and glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed. Although you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and rejoice with an indescribable and glorious joy, for you are receiving the outcome of your faith, the salvation of your souls.” (1 Peter 1:6-9)

Living in faith has not been easy on us. We have indeed suffered various trials. We are being stretched and grown, but we are experiencing indescribable joy and peace. I have never felt closer to God than I do right now. Our communion together has grown, and continues to grow, blossoming into a beautiful relationship.

Your story is not likely the same as mine. But I challenge you; when God asks you to step out in faith, to really take a risk, trust Him. Take that first step and watch how your life begins to flourish with grace. I can promise that you will never regret living in communion with God.

4 thoughts on “Stepping Out In Faith: Redefining Our Dream

  1. Beautifully written Heather. Thanks for opening the door and inviting us to take a journey of faith as you have. I look forward to following your blog.

    1. Finding my voice and in the process trying to totally shift the way I view myself and my voice. What I have to say does matter to someone, and it certainly matters to me. So why continue to quiet it? 🙂 There is still a long ways to go.

      1. Amen! And what you have to say DOES matter. I think we tend to isolate, wondering if what is going on in our little worlds has any impact on anyone but us.
        Your writing. Your sharing. It speaks to us. Keep writing :-).
        Coffee with Truvia and Natural Bliss
        OR
        if I’m really getting a good fix…it’s Salted Caramel Mocha.
        Meet ya in the middle
        karen

Leave a Reply

