A simple lesson

Along with taking a new liking to blogging, I have discovered other blogs I enjoy. And as you can imagine its a spiral from one blog to the next, finding others that those bloggers find inspirational and diving into the world of online inspiration from people just like me. People making it through each day with new perspectives, and teacher children.

I learned my lesson this morning. Two eyes, wide open. Always.

I was in my room. Reading blogs. Children downstairs. Watching PBS.

Its all innocent.

I went downstairs to rejoin the day with my children, online adventures finished. What I found was this.

Funny? Yes. Markers taken away? Also YES.

But it got me thinking. Do I have to keep all eyes on my children for every second? If I look away for even a moment is this what is bound to happen every time?

Psalm 33:13-15

“Adonai looks out from heaven;
he sees every human being;
from the place where he lives
he watches everyone living on earth,
he who fashioned the hearts of them all
and understands all they do.”

The God who breathed the universe watches over me from Heaven. Does he feel like he must do this? If he takes his eyes away for even a moment do I show up like this? Face colored in the shame of my sins? The evidence of my mistakes clearly visible. The shame in my eyes causing me to look away from the face of my Father.

John 1:12 “From his fullness we have all received, grace upon grace.”  

Beautiful isn’t it. The evidence of sin clearly written on our face and he shows us grace upon grace. We can bathe in the redeeming qualities of the Holy Spirit, cleanse, and be made new.

And just as God does with us, I scrubbed away the colors on my daughters face.

“Mommy, it hurts”

Sometimes it does. Sometimes refining our sinning soul hurts. We know our mistakes and God uses them to cleanse and renew us and draw us to him.

Hebrews 12:5-6

“My child, do not regard lightly the discipline of the Lord, or lose heart when you are punished by him; for the Lord disciplines those whom he loves, and chastises every child whom he accepts.” 

2 Corinthians 4:16

“So we do not lose heart. Even though our outer nature is wasting away, our inner nature is being renewed day by day. For this slight momentary affliction is preparing us for an eternal weight of glory beyond all measure, because we look not at what can be seen but at what cannot be seen; for what can be seen is temporary, but what cannot be seen is eternal.”

It hurts to refine, but the reward is eternal. Its our strength and hope found in the Lord that will get us through. And it is through the grace and mercy of God that we are cleansed and made whole.


Leave a Reply

